Call Us Today! 020 8684 3719|info@bmeforum.org

Latest Events

Latest Events 2021-09-14T15:53:52+00:00

WEIGHT SHED THROUGH ART
Tuesday 7th September 2021
Tuesday 14th September 2021

Tuesday 21st September 2021
Tuesday 28th September 2021

10:00 – 11:00

The Wellness Centre  CRO 1LP

Improve your health, and your creativity, through simple art and activities.
During these sessions, Activity Coordinator Lady will be leading various sessions to help you keep fit and improve your art skills!

FREE light refreshments will be offered

Ticket

CHILDHOOD TRAUMA SERIES
Please join us in a supportive space to share experiences exploring childhood trauma.

Monday 6th September 2021 – Shame
Wednesday 8th September 2021 – Abandonment Issues
Monday 13th September 2021- Anger
Monday 20th September 2021 – Survivors guilt

5:30pm – 6:30pm

Via Zoom

Ticket

WELLBEING WORKSHOPS

Thursday 9th September 2021
Thursday 16th September 2021
Thursday 23rd September 2021
Thursday 30th September 2021

13:00 – 14:00

The Wellness centre CRO 1LP
Learn More About Self- Love, Self – Care and Mindfulness.

FREE light refreshments will be offered

Ticket

WALK AND TALK

Tuesday 7th September 2021
Tuesday 14th September 2021
Tuesday 21st September 2021
Tuesday 28th September 2021

11:00 – 12:30
South Norwood Country Park SE25 4NF

Enjoy Nature and Make friends along the way.
Activity Coordinator Audrey will be leading the group in a walk around South Norwood Country Park

Ticket

DEBT WELLNESS AND DEBT MANAGEMENT
WEDNESDAY 22ND SEPTEMBER 18:00 – 20:00

Supporting residents with their wellbeing and debt management

  • Are you struggling with debt?
  • Is debt effecting your wellbeing?
  • Are you looking for a safe space to discuss debt?

Then come along to our workshop where we discuss all things energy debt management and wellness.
LOCATION: The Wellness Centre First Floor, Unit 1040/42, Croydon, England, CR0 1TY

Ticket

DOMESTIC ENERGY TRAINING
WEDNESDAY 22ND SEPTEMBER
09:30 – 12:30

Free half day training session.
Teaching you how to help residents heat their homes and reduce their fuel bills.
This is a training session is for front line staff working with residents on low income and volunteers that interact
with residents and provide support, and anyone interested in knowing more about domestic energy can attend the training day.

LOCATION: The Wellness Centre First Floor, Unit 1040/42, Croydon, England, CR0 1TY

Ticket

BLACK MENTAL HEALTH SERIES

Thursday 14th October 2021
Thursday 11th November 2021
Thursday 02nd December 2021

Research has shown that Back people are less likely to to access treatment for Mental Health conditions than other cultures.

The Patient Carer Race Equality Framework (PCREF) is a recommendation from the National Mental Health Act Review to eliminate the unacceptable racial disparity within Mental Health Services for Black communities.

It is a practical approach which aims to monitor areas of Access, Experience and Outcomes for Black people within the service.

Ticket

Writing wellbeing workshops

Writing down your thoughts and feelings has proven to be a powerful tool to express yourself. Please join us weekly in our writing workshop that will help you gain a better understanding of your emotional world through empowering writing exercises.

Mondays 5.30pm – 6.30pm

Mon 4th Oct Turning a negative experience into a positive

Mon 11th Oct Overcoming emotional pain

Mon 18th Oct Understanding difficult feelings and emotions

Mon 25th Oct Understanding our relationships with others

Mon 1st Nov Being present in the moment

Mon 8th Nov Being at peace with endings

Please register on Eventbrite to book your place.

Ticket

BLACK HISTORY MONTH EVENT

Charred book reading with Andreena Leeanne
Wednesday 6th October 5.30pm – 6.30pm

Andreena writes and performs poetry to come to terms with and speak out about her personal experiences with homelessness, mental health, LGBT, Identity, childhood sexual abuse and the many other challenges she has faced in her life. By speaking her truth, she hopes to inspire and empower others to speak and write their truth.

Please join us for a book reading and Q&A with author and poet, Andreena Leeanne at
The Wellness Centre, Whitgift shopping centre on the first floor. Landmark; opposite Waterstones

Ticket

BLACK HISTORY MONTH EVENT
Lets talk about Prostate Cancer
Wednesday 20th October
18:30 – 20:00 

This Black History Month lets talk about Prostate Cancer.
1 in 4 black men will get prostate cancer in their lifetime. Black men are more likely to get prostate cancer than other men, who have a 1 in 8 chance of getting prostate cancer. You may also be more likely to get prostate cancer as a black man if:

  • you are aged 45 or over – and your risk increases as you get older
  • your father or brother has had it.
Ticket

BLACK HISTORY MONTH EVENT

Thursday 28th October
6.30pm – 8pm | Online via Zoom

Please join us for a special writing wellbeing workshop for Black History Month with author and self-care facilitator, Andreena Leeanne where you’ll explore self-love & self-care.

Andreena writes, performs & speaks out about her personal experiences with homelessness, mental health, LGBT, Identity, childhood sexual abuse and the many other challenges. By speaking her truth, she hopes to inspire and empower others to speak and write their truth.

Ticket

BLACK HISTORY MONTH EVENT
The Black Men’s Consortium in association with the Fathers Forum and Croydon BME Forum presents

FRIDAY 29TH OCTOBER
18:30 (Performance start at 19:00)
Front room 37 – 39 St Georges Walk Croydon CR0 1YL

Kwame & the end of summer lockdown 2021
An Interactive Theatre Performance & Community Dialogue that was written & produced by Black Men,
a live performance in order to connect and dialogue about how BLACK Men can move forwards with personal and collective
action around their mental health.

 

Ticket

Walking for health – 55+

Monday, 4th October
Monday, 11th October
Monday, 18th October
Monday, 25th October

During these sessions, Activity Coordinator Florence will be leading the group in a walk around the Park Hill Recreation Grounds (Meeting Point: The Wellness Centre). Socialise, make new friends, and connect with nature every week

Ticket

Drawing for Beginners (and Improvers!) – 55+

Tuesday, 5th October
Tuesday, 12th October
Tuesday, 19th October
Tuesday, 26th October

During these sessions, Activity Coordinator Lady will be teaching you more about the art of drawing. Whether you are just starting to pick up a pencil, or are already on your journey, these sessions will be suitable for all beginners to those looking to improve.

The Wellness Centre First Floor, Unit 1040/42, Croydon, England, CR0 1TY

Ticket

Poetry for Beginners – 55+

Wednesday, 3rd November
Wednesday, 10th November
Wednesday, 17th November
Wednesday, 24th November

The Wellness Centre
First Floor, Unit 1040/42, Croydon, England, CR0 1TY

During these sessions, Activity Coordinator Lady will be leading various sessions on developing poetry for beginners.

Ticket

 Jewellery Making – 55+

 Tuesday, 2nd November
Tuesday, 9th November

Tuesday, 16th November
Tuesday, 23rd November

The Wellness Centre
First Floor, Unit 1040/42, Croydon, England, CR0 1TY

During these sessions, Activity Coordinator Sheila will be leading the group in creating their own jewellery! Beginners are welcome.

Ticket